Intersections and articulations- Subsumed by history.

MA2: Testing practice

Intersections and articulations

18.04.19

Kara Walker, an artist, the visual ethnographer that documents and response to her history, culture and traditions, created the sculptural piece, “A Subtlety, or the Marvelous Sugar Baby”. I have in a previous journal post discussed her work in a response to a tutorial earlier in the year.

Even though I am, of course, interested in her work, the word that comes out in some of the videos from Intersections and articulations is history. Of course, this resonates with my practice.

 

Screen Shot 2019-04-18 at 07.42.39

I am currently ‘grappling’ with my contextual studies, the practice of discussing my art practice. Exploring and divulging my ideas and thoughts, and my prime concern is how I can discuss my ideas without just a recant of the process and history. How can I do this? How can I not recall the historical aspect of my work, when my pieces are as Kara Walker said ‘…subsumed in history’.

Screen Shot 2019-04-18 at 07.42.07

Leave a comment

Website Built with WordPress.com.

Up ↑